Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 7th, 2008

Who knew…

Last Sunday 2 of my girlfriends wanted to go see Sex in the City.  I think I’ve already established that I love movies.  So even though I had never seen a full episode of the show while on tv (no, I don’t have HBO, and have also seemed to miss it on reruns), I was totally game to go.

We spent a beautiful afternoon (which has been rare here) inside with at least 80 other women and 2 men (not exagerating there….we figured they were hoping to get “sex in the city” upon returning home) watching what I found to be a very funny movie.  It might help that I am getting closer to that 4-0 mark, so some of the issues hit close to home.  This is definitely not a kid movie, but I’m not a kid, so we’re ok.  The whole experience felt kind of like a slumber party, with some of the girls dressed to the nines instead of pj’s.  It was the perfect afternoon with girlfriends.

So tonight I got together with 2 other girlfriends for dinner and a movie as is our custom to commemorate birthdays (one of theirs not mine).  We debated on seeing Made of Honor, but could only find it in 1 theater.  Then there was Indiana Jones, not the typical chick flick that we normally do, but it is Harrison Ford for Pete’s Sake!  I know he’s past his prime, blah, blah, blah….it’s Harrison Ford!  But the birthday girl in question really wanted to see Sex in the City.  So not being one to rain on anyone’s parade, I went for a 2nd time. 

It was still funny and I don’t mind seeing a movie twice, but the interesting part was this time the number of men in the audience was much higher.  It honestly changed the experience for me.  The 1st time was all about girls…girls on the screen…the shoes….girls in the theater….the bags….basic girl bonding.  This time you would hear guys chuckling when there didn’t appear to be another woman in the place laughing, and there wasn’t the twitter of 80 women talking and giggling during the previews and going dead quiet when the theme song started.  I am glad that there are guys out there that can appreciate and enjoy a woman-focused plot, but for me this wasn’t a date movie…it’s a girlfriend movie.  So the 2nd time was good, but I will still hold the 1st experience as a movie-going highlight for me.

I should note that I might be slightly bitter towards men right now.  I think I may have had too many of my girlfriends become distant when getting involved with their men, and I get tired of girls night turning into the girls and “Mike”.  In the past 18 months the men in my life have dented my self-esteem a bit.  And every once in a while something pops up to twist the knife just a bit, and that has been the case this week.

Give me an hour or so of knitting and I will be back in my happy place!

Read Full Post »