Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 22nd, 2012

It has been almost 2 years since I have went anyplace on an airplane.  I miss flying.  I love to get to the airport early and have coffee or something to eat while I listen to my ipod and watch people.  All in the anticipation of getting on the plane and sitting and reading or knitting while I fly through the clouds.  I truly do get a little giddy about it, and in truth, I love going new places so the adventure of the plane ride is just good anticipation for a new place.

Well, I finally convinced a girlfriend that we should get out of town, and soon!  So in anticipation of the plane ride and the new location…I needed something to document my travels.

A new camera.

I have had my point-and-shoot Olympus for 4 or 5 years.  It was a nice little camera, but I didn’t ever love it.  It didn’t take phenomenal photos (because that of course has nothing to do with the user), and it has gotten so the battery will only hold a charge for about 10 pictures.  That is simply not going to work when I am out and about.  (Do you hear the rationalization for a new toy?)

Last time I made a production out of buying my camera.  I wanted to touch and feel them at Best Buy.  Then I went home and searched online for prices and reviews.  Then I went to Target, or anywhere else that had alternatives for me to touch and feel (I am very into the touching and feeling part of shopping).  Then I debated on whether I should just go to National Camera Exchange because they have knowledgeable sales people and they will let you take a class to get the most out of your camera.  All to end up going back to Best Buy and buying my Olympus which I didn’t  end up loving.

So this time I knew I needed one in the near future.  I saw a Target ad for this little Kodak Easyshare.  It was red….I like red.  It was a Kodak….I loved my very 1st 35mm camera which was a Kodak (I then lamented the fact that I had lent it to a girlfriend who took it to Chicago and forgot it in a bar and how I have missed that camer ever since).  It was $89.99…..which was in my budget (and was way less than what I paid for my Olympus).  It has 16 megapixels and a 5X optic zoom…..good enough stats for me.  So I will confess the only research I did was to see if Amazon had it…they did for $81 & free shipping.  I ordered it without ever even going to touch and feel it!  It arrived on my door…more pink than red.  But still very cute!

So a comparison…..my crocuses on the Olympus (can you even believe I have crocuses blooming in March and that my yard is green????  This winter is weird.)……

And here are my crocuses on my new Kodak Easyshare…..

This wasn’t very scientific.  I just used the auto setting on both of them.  But I think I might come to love my new little Kodak and I don’t regret my stressfree approach to camera shopping this time!

Read Full Post »